Barefoot Sandals

16 May

It’s that time of year again. Put away the boots and get out the sandals! I like to actually go barefoot a lot, and I love barefoot sandals!

For this project, I used a design from Urban Thread’s Elven Court series.

I had to make the design a little narrower and I made a satin stitch border around the entire design. It’s stitched on sheer fabric, in fact, I think it once was a sheer curtain in a former life.

DSC_0116

I hooped this using three layers: On the bottom was Super Solvy (the thick stuff), then the sheer fabric was in the middle, and one layer of regular solvy (the thin stuff) was on the top.

After sewing the applique stitching, I trimmed it.

The above picture shows the design after I cut away the top thin solvy and the sheer fabric, leaving it on the bottom Super Solvy layer.

Then I stuck it back in the machine and stitched the satin border.

DSC_0113

I added a little elastic for the toe, and tatted lace from my stash for around the ankle. I found that hand-sewing these on worked a lot better than machine sewing them.

DSC_0114

And thanks to my new barefoot sandals (and photoshop) even my ugly feet look pretty! (sorta.)

DSC_0117

This got me to thinking…I wonder if I could make a G-string with this design?? hmmmm……

2 Responses to “Barefoot Sandals”

  1. Jolanda Bravery July 13, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

    your barefoot sandals are lovely! I think the pattern would look great on a thong too. I have a pair that fit perfectly and will copy them and use one of UT’s embroideries, but the problem is deciding which one!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Urban Threads Birthday Sale and Competitions! | Whipped-Stitch Witchery - May 20, 2013

    […] Barefoot Sandals (disorderlythreads.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

